SSC CHSL Exam Pattern 2020

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern 2020 An Exam Pattern is a good way to sort your preparation strategy. Thus, aspiring candidates should know the SSC CHSL Exam Pattern 2020. Here, we will be discussing the number of questions, type of questions, level of exam, marking scheme, etc. With the release of the CHSL notification recently, a govt job aspirant should be aware of know-what of the exam. This eases in making the preparation strategy & a candidate can get a fair idea of the topics that one need to prioritize.

Let us begin with the understanding of the exam pattern of SSC CHSL 2020:

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern 2020

There are three different phases, which a candidate is required to clear in order to get selected for various posts in the Government Offices.

1. SSC CHSL Tier I Exam is an Objective Multiple Choice Question paper

2. Tier II exam is Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi

3. Tier III is the Computer Proficiency Test.

Check the table below to know the brief about SSC CHSL Exam Pattern (for each tier)

Tier – IObjective Multiple ChoiceComputer Based (online)
Tier – IIDescriptive Paper in English/HindiPen and Paper mode
Tier – IIISkill Test/Computer Proficiency TestWherever Applicable

Click Here for SSC CHSL 2020 Notification

SSC CHSL Tier-I Exam Pattern

SectionSubjectNo of QuestionsMax MarksExam Duration
1General Intelligence255060 minutes (80 Minutes for PWD candidates)
2General Awareness2550
3Quantitative Aptitude (Basic Arithmetic Skill)2550
4English Language (Basic Knowledge)2550

Please note that the total duration of Tier-1 is 60 minutes for all candidates. However, this duration extends till 80 minutes for PwD candidates.

SSC CHSL Tier-II Exam Pattern

SSC CHSL Tier-II is a descriptive type of test. In order to assess the writing skills of candidates in English/Hindi, the candidates have to qualify Tier-II. This written test comprises of an Essay of 200-250 words and Letter/Application writing of about 150-200 wordsThe minimum marks that a candidate needs to score in SSC CHSL Tier-II are 33 per cent.

  • • The total time duration of the exam is of 60 minutes and total marks are 100 marks.
  • • All the questions are based on the concepts of 10th standard.
  • • The total time duration is 80 minutes for candidates who are visually handicapped or suffer from cerebral palsy.

SSC CHSL Tier-III Exam Pattern

The Tier III of SSC CHSL 2020 comprises of a couple of skill tests which are needed for selection to certain government posts. These include typing test, for which a candidate must have a 30wpm (Hindi Medium) and 35wpm (English Medium). The test duration is 15 minutes. For visually handicapped (40% disabled), 30 minutes will be provided. Finally, a merit list will be prepared after the typing test

A government job aspirant should know the important facts regarding the SSC CHSL exam pattern, due to which one can check the level of exam, make checklists for broader topics of what to cover and what to leave. An aspirant aiming to score well, would need to be thorough with the exam pattern, he/she is appearing for. Marking scheme, type of questions and number of questions are the basic things one need to know.